Sharing the Glory

The glory of God is the beauty of his spirit, a beauty that emanates from his holy character. The glory of God is great and eternal! This past Sunday, my brother Todd preached on John 17:1-5 which is Jesus praying to the Father. V.5 reads:

And now, Father, glorify me in your own presence with the glory that I had with you before the world existed.

Todd pointed out that you should put this verse with Isaiah 42:8 which reads:

I am the Lord; that is my name;
my glory I give to no other

How could Jesus have glory with the Father knowing that God would never give any glory to any other? After all, the Lord is deserving of all glory and as we learn in Isaiah, he does not share his glory. The only way it is possible is if Jesus Christ, who was fully man, is also fully God. God is Father, Son and Spirit and there is glory in this trinity. This has to be true or the bible is wrong about Jesus or wrong about God.

I pray we will give Jesus the glory he deserves, the very same glory as the glory of God.

This entry was posted in Other. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

