Final Thoughts on Cancer and 2019

One of the interesting things about getting cancer was that friends and family that I hardly get to speak with were reaching out to me. I really appreciated that experience. One friend that reached out to me gave me a piece of advice that stuck with me as I went through my diagnosis and treatment.

He said, “Don’t let cancer define you.” He had seen others allow their illness to consume their lives. It was a simple but helpful word.

Sure enough, there were times that I was consumed with thoughts about cancer and chemotherapy. I was consumed with researching treatments and prognoses. I was starting to identify myself with my cancer. When that happens, the only thing you care about is being cancer free. It seemed to be the most urgent thing in my life. Suddenly, death was my greatest enemy.

But this is not the Christian life.

There is certainly some value in investing time and energy into fighting cancer. It is a real threat and a real trial. God has blessed me with life and a calling to care for my family. I had to fight for those things. Any cancer patient should.

I documented some of my experiences here, and I hope what I wrote will be something that my children can look back on to see what their father went through. I hope what I wrote will raise awareness about cancer and treatment. I wrote it so that I can even remind myself what God was showing me.

But my fight with cancer is not the only thing I want myself, my family, or my friends to be concerned with. I don’t want anyone with cancer to only think about cancer. Cancer is just one of the many dangers and worries in life. It’s just one of the countless ramifications of the fall of mankind. Cancer, like anything else related to sin, has been conquered by Jesus Christ.

Nothing compares to knowing and worshiping Jesus Christ, including being cancer-free. When you have cancer, it can seem like the most important thing. But it isn’t.

I’m reminded of the words of Paul:

For I could wish that I myself were accursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my brothers, my kinsmen according to the flesh. (Romans 9:3)

Paul, understanding the supreme value of knowing Christ, would give up his own spiritual benefits for the sake of the salvation of all Israel.

That makes me wonder: Though I am hopefully now cancer-free, if my cancer returning meant one of my friends would trust Christ for the first time… would I accept that trade?

The answer MUST be: absolutely! I would accept that deal in a heartbeat, if what I believe about Jesus Christ is true.

This was the greatest lesson of 2019 for me. On top of that, I was blessed with another healthy baby boy, another year of a blessed marriage, my church covered my medical bills, and I even got to see a new Star Wars movie. God is good, with or without cancer.

May we remember the Lord in 2020 and beyond.

This entry was posted in Cancer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment